Official Partner The Royal Society of Medicine


Foundation Programme

After graduating from medical school, trainees will advance to the two-year Foundation Programme. This is the first step in junior doctor training, and aims to develop the interpersonal and clinical skills required of a practising doctor.

Core Medical

Core Medical Training is taken once the second year of the Foundation Programme has been completed. Completion of the two-year CMT programme allows doctors to progress to higher specialist training.

Core Surgical

Doctors completing the Foundation Programme can progress onto Core Surgical Training if they wish to specialise in one of the surgical specialities. The training lasts for two years, during which they will rotate through the surgical specialities.

Core Anaesthetics

Doctors can begin Core Anaesthetic Training after their foundation training. The programme focusses on both Anaesthetics and Intensive Care Medicine, and is the first stage of training for the CCT in Anaesthetics.

General Practice

Once Core Medical Training has been completed, doctors may begin the GP speciality training programme. The programme lasts for three years, with trainees’ time split between training in a practice, and in a hospital post.


The ACCS is a programme for those who have completed their foundation training, and wish to enter higher specialty training in Emergency Medicine. Upon completion, trainees may apply for higher speciality training in anaesthetics.


Paediatrics training is a run-through programme, over three levels, from ST1 to ST3. Training is assessed and managed using competency frameworks, supervision reports, and WPBAs.

Working Abroad

For many doctors, the next step in their training is not simply moving from one level to the next. Overseas work is becoming ever more popular, and offers variety in an already interesting career.


Loading More Content