Official Partner The Royal Society of Medicine


Acute Care Common Stem 

The Acute Care Common Stem is a training programme following the completion of F2 and allowing entry into higher speciality training. ACCS training is therefore an alternative to core medical training for those who wish to enter higher training in a medical speciality.


ACCS takes three years to complete, and is the only route into higher specialist training in Emergency Medicine. Trainees who complete an ACCS training programme can also apply for entry into higher specialty training in Anaesthesia and ICM, as well as any medical specialty the Joint Royal Colleges of Physician Training Board (JRCPTB) oversees.


During the first two years, trainees complete placements in emergency medicine, anaesthetics, intensive care medicine, and acute internal medicine – each lasting roughly six months. The final year of training is tailored to ensure the trainee meets the minimum requirements necessary for entry into higher specialist training in their chosen specialty.

ACCS Training Streams

There are three different training streams for ACCS training – acute medicine, anaesthesia, and emergency medicine. If trainees wish to change streams they must re-enter competitive selection.

During the first two years of the ACCS training programme – the equivalent of CT1-2, trainees generally spend six to nine months working in Acute Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Anaesthetics, and Intensive Care Medicine. The length of each placement will also vary depending on the location and the year of training. The third year of training is the equivalent to CT3, and tailored to the trainee’s intended career path. The third year involves four-to-six-month placements in different medical specialties.

ACCS Training Curriculum

The ACCS curriculum is comprised of, and candidates therefore assessed on


Loading More Content