Official Partner The Royal Society of Medicine


Core Medical Training

Core Medical Training is taken after F2, and therefore allows doctors to progress to higher specialist training.  The CMT curriculum generally takes two years to complete and involves four to six rotations through different specialties, in addition to acute on-call work throughout. It is essential for trainees to pass the Part One, Part Two, and PACES practical examinations for the MCRP by the end of CMT, otherwise they will not be eligible to apply for higher specialist training.

Core CMT Curriculum

The CMT curriculum sets out the essential competencies and standards that trainees must achieve for good medical practice. It also stipulates the formal assessments that trainees must complete during CMT. The competencies trainees are expected to learn are broadly divided into

Symptom-Based Competences

Core Medical Training candidates are expected to demonstrate adequate knowledge of the following CMT curriculum competences:

System-Specific Competences

Trainees are expected to acquire knowledge of the common problems, clinical underlying science, and the competences specific to the systems of

CMT Curriculum Investigation Competencies

Doctors undertaking Core Medical Training should know the indications for and draw interpretation from

Core Medical Training Procedural Competences

The procedural competences are divided into three parts: essential procedures that

Although a number of these procedures are seen as desirable, it is expected that those trainees wishing to pursue a career in acute medicine should be able to perform these procedures independently. If this is not possible, they can demonstrate competency in these procedures by obtaining a course or skills lab certificate, or through clinical experience with a Direct Observation of Procedural Skills (DOPS) assessment.


Loading More Content