Official Partner The Royal Society of Medicine


Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, and Rutland

Oakham, Rutland.

The Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, and Rutland Foundation School covers the three counties south of Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire. This midlands region is largely rural, completely landlocked, and its largest settlements are Leicester, Northampton, and Loughborough. This area is also considered the southernmost point of the East Midlands.

Hospital Trusts in Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, and Rutland

There are five hospital trusts in Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, and Rutland, covering a variety of services and locations. The only linked university in the area is the University of Leicester.

Entry Statistics

In 2018, there were 149 posts available in Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, and Rutland and the competition ratio was 0.78.

Successful applicants to the LNR Foundation School are committed to a two-year programme. The first year is spent in Leicester, and the second is usually spent in Kettering or Northampton – although some candidates spend both in Leicester. LNR does not support linked applications at programme level.

Posts Available

The posts available at the trusts in East Anglia vary across the region. Programmes are divided into three rotations of four months, and the individual programmes can be viewed here. LTFT may be available if candidates meet the eligibility guidelines, but overseas training is not available.

Academic Foundation Programme

The LNR and Trent Foundation School functions as a single Unit of Application called East Midlands. The UoA has 36 places available, with 24 within LNR, and a variety of programmes on offer – more details on which may be found here.


Loading More Content