Official Partner The Royal Society of Medicine



Padstow, Cornwall

The Peninsula Foundation School covers the peninsula of the South West of England – namely, the counties of Devon and Cornwall. The largest settlements in the School area are Plymouth, Exeter, and Cornwall. Most hospitals are located in close proximity to the English coast.

Hospital Trusts in the Peninsula Foundation School

There are five hospital trusts in the Peninsula Foundation School, covering a variety of services and locations. The Peninsula College of Medicine and Dentistry, affiliated with the University of Exeter, is linked to the School.

Entry Statistics

In 2018, there were 188 posts in Peninsula, with a competition ratio of 0.66.

All successful applications to this school result in appointment to fixed two-year programmes. Peninsula Foundation School also aims to honour any linked applications to a trust, and hopefully, a programme level.

Posts Available

The Peninsula School offers programmes over two years, as well as F2-only years. More detailed information may be found on the Peninsula recruitment page. LTFT training is available for those who are eligible – with overseas F2 years available, and F1 abroad posts granted in exceptional circumstances.

Academic Foundation Programme

The Peninsula and Severn Foundation Schools have now merged to form the South West Unit of Application for AFP posts. More information on the merger can be found on the Peninsula School website. There are 10 posts available within the Peninsula Deanery.

As part of their academic training, all doctors will complete a Postgraduate Certificate in Clinical Education, affliated with the University of Plymouth. The F2 year includes day release for academic reasons alongside clinical experience, and is the only school in the UK to function like this.

Medical education posts are available.


Loading More Content